CPD Route


Key Points in Brief


How do I apply?

Fill out our online application form here


When can I start and how long does it take?

You can start the Diploma at any time. You can start the Diploma when we have received the first instalment of the fees. It will take approximately 24 months.


How much will it cost?

To be announced.  In addition, you will need internet access, telephone and a computer / laptop (which you will have to provide and most likely have), and there may travel or accommodation costs for workshops you should attend (your employer may cover these costs for you)


What are the entry requirements?

English and Maths Level 2 or GCSEs at grade A*-C [1-4] are desirable.  Preferably A levels including one science.


What qualification do I get?

BTEC Level 4 Diploma in Healthcare Science delivered by AHPO and awarded by Pearson.


What training do I get and what resources do I need?

Your employer will provide your work based training and provide a mentor.  AHPO will provide your learning materials on an ipad, an assessor and an electronic portfolio.  You will need access to a computer or laptop, mobile phone and the internet (in the workplace and at home).


Where will I study?

Your employer should give you protected workplace study and training time at work.  You will also be expected to study at home.  This will involve reading, writing assignments and essays, collecting evidence, and keeping a reflective diary.  You will upload all your work and evidence of competence to an electronic portfolio.


What does the qualification consist of?

The BTEC Level 4 Diploma in Healthcare Science has 10 mandatory units and 122 optional units.  Each specialism within Healthcare Science can select optional units appropriate for the training of their staff.  AHPO is only offering the Level 4 Diploma in Healthcare Science / Ophthalmic and Vision Science, which consists of the 10 mandatory units and 12 optional units that are listed here


More information



Your employer may pay your course fees.  You may decide to pay the course fees yourself.


You may be eligible for a student loan or other funding.  More information is available here


After completing the BTEC Level 4 Diploma….

AHPO will be providing and awarding a Level 5 Diploma in Ophthalmic and Vision Science for learners who successfully complete the Level 4 BTEC Diploma and wish to progress to the next career level.  We believe some universities are preparing to provide Level 6 Degree Apprenticeships that may include an option for Ophthalmic and Vision Science.


Professional Recognition

Ophthalmic Healthcare Science Associates can apply to join the Academy for Healthcare Science (AHCS) Practitioner Register through the equivalence route. They would need to be working at practitioner level and provide evidence of knowledge and competence at this level. For further information visit here


Useful links and more information

Level 4 Diploma in Healthcare Science / Ophthalmic and Vision Science Course Content

Associate Register of Academy for Healthcare Science